27 nakshatras

  • Home
  • Blog
  • 27 nakshatras

There are 27 nakshatras in astrology. They are known as the most important letters of the alphabet in the ancient astrological literature. The meaning of each one is very important to understand the different meanings of all the planetary influences that affect our lives.  27 nakshatras

Nakshatras are symbols of the planets that influence our lives. They are identified according to their planetary positions. The positions of these planets are different according to the time of the year. For example, a planet’s position during the month of January means it is in Leo or it is in Aquarius. The best time to get your nakshatra is during astrology readings where the nakshatras correspond to the astrological signs of that month. 27 nakshatras

One thing we should know about the planets is that they are not like the other objects of the universe in the solar system. Therefore, the nakshatras are also identified according to the properties of each planet. The following information on each of the nakshatras will be explained in this article.  27 nakshatras

The sign of Scorpio is referred to by the letters R and is represented by the letters Sag. Its nakshatra is Rhasis and Sagres. The letters R is a symbol of the Divine and this one also means strength and power. Sag is another letter that represents wealth and authority. This one is called Sagriya which is also used in astrology readings. 27 nakshatras

Taurus is the zodiac sign that is referred to by the letters T and A. It is represented by the letters Tau and Ase. The letter T represents the sign of Leo and the letters A represents the sign of Virgo. This zodiac sign represents the element of air and fire.  27 nakshatras

Cancer is the sun sign that is referred to by the letters V and R. The letter V represents the sign of Libra and R is another sun sign. This is a sign that has a lot of movement and changes. The letter T represents the sign of Scorpio.

Virgo is a good luck and prosperity sign. It is also referred to by the letters E and I. The letter E represents the sign of Capricorn and the letter I represents the sign of Aquarius.  27 nakshatras

Both these nakshatras are important in astrology readings. Astrologers use the letters to identify the planetary influences in their charts. The nakshatras are also called nakshatras since it represents the total life. All the planets in a person’s chart are represented by one of these nakshatras.

Nakshatra is the Sanskrit term as per Hindu Vedic calendar or panchang. During ancient period well-known sages or gurus have divided all the 12 zodiac signs also known as Rashisinto 27 Nakshatras which also means constellations of 13.20 degree in size each when measured from the fixed starting point. The zodiac circle comprises of 360 degrees in the universe.

As per Ancient Vedic Puranas and Hindu mythology, all these 27 Nakshatra represent the daughters of King Daksha. Planet Moon is married to all the 27 Nakshatra.  As per mythological significance, Moon spends one day approximately with each Nakshatra.  27 nakshatras

All 27 Nakshatra plays a significant role in native’s horoscope depending upon the date of birth and time as they are classified into various attributes such as Lord Planet, deity, Sex and many more. 27 nakshatras

Moreover, they are further subdivided into different Padas, which is used to determine the name of native (starting alphabet letter) 27 nakshatras

In Jyotish Shastra or Vedic  Astrology, Nakshatra symbolizes accurate interpretation and predictions respect to the position of the moon at the time of birth in horoscopes. 27 nakshatras

This reading further helps to determine Lord of Nakshatra which in turn helps to determine nature, behaviour, ascendant temperament, in particular, Dasha or Mahadasha in native’s horoscope.

Following is the List of 27 Nakshatras

  1. Ashvini Nakshatra
  2. Bharani Nakshatra
  3. Krittika Nakshatra
  4. Rohini Nakshatra
  5. Mrigashira Nakshatra
  6. Ardra Nakshatra
  7. Punarvasu Nakshatra
  8. Pushya Nakshatra
  9. Ashlesha Nakshatra
  10. Magha Nakshatra
  11. Purva Phalguni Nakshatra
  12. Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra
  13. Hasta Nakshatra
  14. Chitra Nakshatra
  15. Swati Nakshatra
  16. Vishakha Nakshatra
  17. Anuradha Nakshatra
  18. Jyestha Nakshatra
  19. Mula Nakshatra
  20. Purva Ashadha Nakshatra
  21. Uttar Ashadha Nakshatra
  22. Shravan Nakshatra
  23. Dhanistha Nakshatra
  24. Shatabhisha Nakshatra
  25. Purva Bhadra Nakshatra
  26. Uttara Bhadra Nakshatra
  27. Revati Nakshatra


Call Now Button